Filipina Women's Network
Log in

Share this event

Covid-19 Pinay Entrepreneurship Series

  • April 24, 2020
  • September 25, 2020
  • 29 sessions
  • April 24, 2020, 3:00 PM 5:00 PM (PDT)
  • May 01, 2020, 3:00 PM 5:00 PM (PDT)
  • May 08, 2020, 3:00 PM 5:00 PM (PDT)
  • May 15, 2020, 3:00 PM 5:00 PM (PDT)
  • May 15, 2020, 3:00 PM 5:00 PM (PDT)
  • May 22, 2020, 3:00 PM 5:00 PM (PDT)
  • May 22, 2020, 3:00 PM 5:00 PM (PDT)
  • May 29, 2020, 3:00 PM 5:00 PM (PDT)
  • May 29, 2020, 3:00 PM 5:00 PM (PDT)
  • June 05, 2020, 3:00 PM 5:00 PM (PDT)
  • June 05, 2020, 3:00 PM 5:00 PM (PDT)
  • June 12, 2020, 3:00 PM 5:00 PM (PDT)
  • June 12, 2020, 3:00 PM 5:00 PM (PDT)
  • June 19, 2020, 3:00 PM 5:00 PM (PDT)
  • June 19, 2020, 3:00 PM 5:00 PM (PDT)
  • June 26, 2020, 3:00 PM 5:00 PM (PDT)
  • July 03, 2020, 3:00 PM 5:00 PM (PDT)
  • July 10, 2020, 3:00 PM 5:00 PM (PDT)
  • July 17, 2020, 8:00 AM 10:00 AM (PDT)
  • July 24, 2020, 3:00 PM 5:00 PM (PDT)
  • July 31, 2020, 3:00 PM 5:00 PM (PDT)
  • August 07, 2020, 3:00 PM 5:00 PM (PDT)
  • August 14, 2020, 3:00 PM 5:00 PM (PDT)
  • August 21, 2020, 3:00 PM 5:00 PM (PDT)
  • August 28, 2020, 3:00 PM 5:00 PM (PDT)
  • September 04, 2020, 3:00 PM 5:00 PM (PDT)
  • September 11, 2020, 3:00 PM 5:00 PM (PDT)
  • September 18, 2020, 3:00 PM 5:00 PM (PDT)
  • September 25, 2020, 3:00 PM 5:00 PM (PDT)
  • Zoom Meeting
  • 43

Registration

(depends on selected options)

Base fee:

Registration is closed

Pinay Entrepreneurship Series

during COVID-19

Speakers are business owners from start-ups (1-5 years) to mature businesses (over 10 years) representing a variety of industries e.g. restaurant, technology, animation, food manufacturing, agriculture, product manufacturing, beauty and fashion, services in home design, brand management and legal.

Business coaching and femtoring are available by matching entrepreneurs who need help on transforming their business by re-developing business plans, re-thinking operations including how to leverage available grants and loans with business owners who have the expertise. 

The sessions are grouped under the 4 Options of Entrepreneurship:

  • Starting a Practice
  • Purchasing a Franchise
  • Purchasing an Existing Business
  • Starting a Business from Scratch


Online Zoom Meetings scheduled weekly on Fridays (Saturdays in Asia) for nine weeks April 24 thru September 11.

Check your TIME ZONES according to speaker schedule:

  • San Francisco / Vancouver 3-5 PM Friday
  • Chicago 5-7 PM Friday
  • New York / Toronto 6-8 PM Friday
  • Manila 6-8 AM (next day Saturday)
  • Japan 7-9 AM (next day Saturday)
  • London 11 PM (Friday) - 1AM (next day Saturday)
  • Switzerland / Norway / Austria 12 -2 AM (next day Saturday)
  • UAE Dubai 2-4 AM (next day Saturday)

REGISTER NOW:

======


SPEAKER SCHEDULE

  • ALL SESSIONS:
    • "4 Options of Entrepreneurship":  Marily Mondejar, CEO, Filipina Women's Network.
  • Session #1 April 24: Starting a Practice and a Business from Scratch 
    • Kristen Brillantes, Co-Founder & CEO, The Sarap Shop (USA) Global FWN100™2019
  • Session #2 May 1: Shifting My Business Focus
    • Cola Paclibar, Founder/Director, GVOM Limited (Hong Kong and Australia) Global FWN100™2019
  • Session #3 May 8: 
    • Necessity is the mother of all Innovation: Creating a business during and post COVID-19: Charlene Consolacion, Founder and CEO, Biig (USA) Global FWN100™2019
    • Adjusting your business in the new Normal: Marla Rausch, CEO, Animation Vertigo (USA and Philippines) 
  • Session #4 May 15: Entrepreneurial Journeys of 2 Mature Businesses:
    • Charina Palomares Garcia, Esq., Partner, Wolfsdorf Rosenthal LLP (USA) Global FWN100™2019
    • Nana Luz, Founder and CEO, Softype Inc. (USA, India, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines) US FWN100™2009
  • Session #5 May 22:  Make Me A Filipina Millionaire. Where's the money?
    • Equity Financing – Friends & Family, Angel, VC: Marylou Garcia, Managing Director, Expense Reduction Analysts and Angel Investor (USA) Global FWN100™2016
    • Debt Financing – Loans, SBA, qualifications: Wells Fargo Rachelle Cayanan, VP and Commercial Banker of Wells Fargo,
  • Session #6 May 29: 
    • Purchasing or Selling a Franchise: Sherill Quintana, Founder & CEO, Oryspa Spa Solutions, Inc. (PHILIPPINES) Global FWN100™2018
    • Starting and Growing a Multi-awarded Law Practice: Lorna Kapunan, Esq., Founding Partner, Kapunan & Castillo Law Offices (PHILIPPINES) Global FWN100™2016
  • Session #7 June 5: 
    • Starting a Design Practice: Vina Lustado, Founder of Sol Haus Design (USA) Global FWN100™2015
    • Managing a Family Business: Georgitta Puyat, Chairman, Philippine Orchard Corporation (PHILIPPINES) (invited) US FWN100™2017
  • Session #8 June 12:
    • Growing a Family Business: Susie Quesada, President, Ramar Foods International (USA, worldwide) (invited) US FWN100™2007
  • Session #9 June 19: Managing Risk for Small Businesses
    • Benel Se-Liban, CPA, Managing Partner, JBC Group (USA) 

      US FWN100™2011
    • Maria Fides Balita, Partner, CPA, Adelfia LLC (USA) Global FWN100™2019
  • Session #10 June 26: 
    • Starting a Business from an Idea: Christen Montero, Chief Marketing Officer, Blue (USA) Global FWN100™2018
    • Nurturing my Passion for Art is my Business: Pam Gotangco, Visual Artist (SWITZERLAND)  Global FWN100™2018
  • Session #11 July 3: 
    • Dreaming BigJoji Ilagan Bian, Chair, Joji Ilagan International Schools (PHILIPPINES) Global FWN100™2017
    • Running a Real Estate Business: Joan Laguatan, Owner/Broker, Canvass Properties (USA)
  • Session #12 July 10: 
    • “Achieving 100 Business Areas Worldwide: MILLENNIAL PERSPECTIVES IN THE BOARDROOM”: Mica F. Tan, Chief Executive Officer, MFT Group (PHILIPPINES HONG KONG SINGAPORE USA) Global FWN100™2019
    • "Kaisipan: A Social Impact Challenge": Dr. Maria Beebe, President, Kaisipan (USA) US FWN100™ 2011, Global FWN100™ 2013, Global FWN100™ Continuing Influential 2018
  • Session #13 July 17:  NEW TIMING! CHECK YOUR TIME ZONE:
    • San Francisco / Vancouver 8AM
    • Chicago 10AM
    • New York / Toronto 11AM
    • Manila 11PM
    • London 4PM
    • Switzerland / Norway 5PM
    • Dubai 7PM
    • How I Became An Online Influencer: 

      Nina Carpio, Online Influencer via "Smile Like Nina" and "Morena" Series (DUBAI, UAE) Global FWN100™2019
    • From Rock Band Star to Fashion Brand: Angie Adams, Owner/Director, Question Everything Ltd. (LONDON, UK)  Global FWN100™2018
  • Session #14 July 24:
    • “Pivoting the Media Business: From print to digital media”: Gina Atienza, President, SunStar Management Inc (PHILIPPINES) Global FWN100™ 2016
    • "The Uniqueness of Running a Money Remittance Business in Japan": Isabelita Manalastas, President & Representative Director, Speed Money Transfer Japan (JAPAN) Global FWN100™ 2013
  • Session #15:  July 31: 
    • “Filipino Cuisine Making it in London”: Rowena Romulo, Restaurateur, Romulo Restaurant Group UK Limited (LONDON, UK) Global FWN100™™2017, Face of Global Pinay Power 2017
  • Session #16: Aug 7/Aug 8 (Asia):
    • “Sunshine Farms": Rhodora Palomar-Fresnedi, President & CEO, Sunshine Farm Philippines (PHILIPPINES) Global FWN100™2019
    • "From Single Mom to Titas of Manila: Living the Dream. Owning Your Business": Charina Vergara, Owner, Titas of Manila Filipino Kitchen (USA) Global FWN100™2016
  • Session #17: Aug 8/ Aug 9 (Asia, Europe and UAE) Additional NEW DATE:
    • “Where in the World is Kharissa?":  Kharissa Fernando Smith, software engineer, travel blogger, and new business entrepreneur (MEXICO) Global FWN100™2015
    • “Pivoting the Media Business: From print to digital media”: Gina Atienza, President, SunStar Management Inc (PHILIPPINES) Global FWN100™ 2016
    • REGISTER at: https://on.ffwn.org/3fxV5SD
  • Session #18: Aug 14/Aug 15 (Asia, Europe and UAE): 
    • “Lightning In a Bottle: The Power of Media to Change Minds”: Alexandra Cuerdo, Producer, Director, Writer, Kidlat Entertainment (USA) Global FWN100™2018
  • Session #19:  Aug 21/Aug 22 (Asia, Europe and UAE): 
"Innovation for Business Sustainability": Mylene Abiva, President/CEO,  FELTA Multi-Media, Inc. (PHILIPPINES) Global FWN100™ 2016
  • Session #20 August 28/August 29 (Asia): 
“Decisions, Decisions”: Michelle Florendo, Decision Engineer and Coach What If You Could, LLC (USA) Global FWN100™2015
  • Session #21:  Sept 4/Sept 5 (Asia, Europe and UAE): 
“2 Business Cultures: Doing Business in the US vs Doing Business in the Philippines”: Lilia Villanueva, President & COO, Marosvill Development Corporation (USA and PHILIPPINES) US FWN100™2007
"The Dynamics of Teaching English to Immigrants": Nova Fossgard, Director, Purley Language College (UNITED KINGDOM) Global FWN100™️ 2018
  • Sept 11/Sept 12 (Asia, Europe and UAE): POSTPONED

"Bystander Intervention":  

Have you ever experienced being harassed, put down, interrupted or yelled at because of your race, sex, religion, color, gender, size, orientation, disability, age, or origin? Were there bystanders who witnessed what was happening, but did not do anything?

Have you ever witnessed harassment, put downs, interrupting a speaker or yelled at because of race, sex, religion, color, gender, size, orientation, disability, age, or origin? Did you want to do something but did not know how to help, what to say or was afraid of what could happen? So you ignored the incident and did not do anything?

It doesn’t have to be that way. Learn the 5 D’s of Bystander Intervention.

Marily Mondejar, CEO, Filipina Women's Network.
  • Session #22:  Sept 18/Sept 19 (Asia, Europe and UAE): 
"Challenges and Wins in Establishing a Law Practice in the UK": Crystal Dias, LLB(HONS), Partner, Dias Solicitors (UNITED KINGDOM) Global FWN100™ 2018
"Successful Business Partnerships": Andreliz Bautista McGlade, President / Founding Partner, Pharmacopia, Inc. (USA) 
  • Session #23: Sept 25/Sept 26:  (Asia, Europe and UAE)
"DeathCare: caring for the dead is just as crucial and important as attending to the living": 

Mildred Vitangcol, Chair of the Board, St. Peter Life Plan Inc. (PHILIPPINES) Global FWN100™ 2019


"Art: The Seduction of Prints": 

Lenore RS Lim, Artist (CANADA) US FWN100™ 2009



SPONSORS

         



The current global pandemic has had a severe economic impact on small businesses. To help Filipina business owners, FWN created the Entrepreneur Speaker Series to provide actionable and innovative ideas on how small businesses can transform existing business models to survive and thrive during these difficult economic times. 

Speakers are business owners from start-ups (1-5 years) to mature businesses (over 10 years) representing a variety of industries e.g. restaurant, technology, animation, food manufacturing, agriculture, product manufacturing, beauty and fashion, services in home design, brand management and legal.

Business coaching and femtoring are available by matching entrepreneurs who need help on transforming their business by re-developing business plans, re-thinking operations including how to leverage available grants and loans with business owners who have the expertise. 

Share this event

Upcoming events

© 2001 Filipina Women's Network  •  P.O. Box 192143  •  San Francisco, California 94119  •  415.935.4396  •  filipina {at} ffwn.org
Terms of Use  •  Privacy Policy